UNESCO World Heritage Sites in France

There are forty-four UNESCO World Heritage Sites in France. Thirty-nine are cultural, four are natural and one is mixed. France joined UNESCO on November 4, 1946.

Chartres Cathedral

Mont-Saint-Michel and its Bay

Palace and Park of Versailles

Prehistoric Sites and Decorated Caves of the Vézère Valley

Vézelay, Church and Hill

Amiens Cathedral

Arles, Roman and Romanesque Monuments

Cistercian Abbey of Fontenay

Palace and Park of Fontainebleau

Roman Theatre and its Surroundings and the “Triumphal Arch” of Orange

From the Great Saltworks of Salins-les-Bains to the Royal Saltworks of Arc-et-Senans, the Production of Open-pan Salt

Abbey Church of Saint-Savin sur Gartempe

Gulf of Porto: Calanche of Piana, Gulf of Girolata, Scandola Reserve

Place Stanislas, Place de la Carrière and Place d’Alliance in Nancy

Pont du Gard (Roman Aqueduct)

Strasbourg, Grande-Île and Neustadt

Cathedral of Notre-Dame, Former Abbey of Saint-Rémi and Palace of Tau, Reims

Paris, Banks of the Seine

Bourges Cathedral

Historic Centre of Avignon: Papal Palace, Episcopal Ensemble and Avignon Bridge

Canal du Midi

Historic Fortified City of Carcassonne

Pyrénées – Mont Perdu

Historic Site of Lyon

Routes of Santiago de Compostela in France

Belfries of Belgium and France

Jurisdiction of Saint-Emilion

The Loire Valley between Sully-sur-Loire and Chalonnes

Provins, Town of Medieval Fairs

Le Havre, the City Rebuilt by Auguste Perret

Bordeaux, Port of the Moon

Fortifications of Vauban

Lagoons of New Caledonia: Reef Diversity and Associated Ecosystems

Episcopal City of Albi

Pitons, cirques and remparts of Reunion Island

Prehistoric Pile Dwellings around the Alps

The Causses and the Cévennes, Mediterranean agro-pastoral Cultural Landscape

Nord-Pas de Calais Mining Basin

Decorated Cave of Pont d’Arc, known as Grotte Chauvet-Pont d’Arc, Ardèche

Champagne Hillsides, Houses and Cellars

The Climats, terroirs of Burgundy

The Architectural Work of Le Corbusier, an Outstanding Contribution to the Modern Movement


Chaîne des Puys – Limagne fault tectonic arena

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.